Words First: Talking Text in Opera

Ricky Ian Gordon and Collaborating With Yourself and Others

January 25, 2021 Keturah Stickann/Ricky Ian Gordon Season 2 Episode 4
Words First: Talking Text in Opera
Ricky Ian Gordon and Collaborating With Yourself and Others
Show Notes

Keturah speaks with Ricky Ian Gordon about how he collaborates with multiple composers, as well as compositions for which he has written the libretto.

The episode begins with clips from last season:  Michael Korie discussing how Ricky helped convince him to collaborate on The Grapes of Wrath (https://www.buzzsprout.com/1180661/5613223), and Leonard Foglia talking about Ricky’s phrase “Boil it down to stock,” and how it helped him as a writer. (https://www.buzzsprout.com/1180661/5280550).  We also hear mezzo-soprano, Frederica Von Stade talking about how meaningful it was to work on A Coffin in Egypt.  (http://www.fredericavonstade.com/)

List of  Ricky’s works in order they are mentioned:

Orpheus & Euridice  (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/orpheus-euridice/)
Green Sneakers (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/green-sneakers/)
Sycamore Trees (https://www.baltimoresun.com/news/bs-xpm-2010-05-27-bs-ae-arts-sycamore-trees-20100527-story.html)
Ellen West (https://www.brightshiny.ninja/ellen-west)
My Life with Albertine (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/my-life-with-albertine/)
Intimate Apparel (https://www.lct.org/explore/blog/lemon-ia-ricky-ian-gordon-crafting-intimate-apparel/)
Garden of the Finzi-Continis (https://nycopera.com/shows/finzi/)
The House Without A Christmas Tree (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/christmas-tree-wsj2017/)
The Tibetan Book of the Dead (https://www.rochestercitynewspaper.com/rochester/interview-ricky-ian-gordon/Content?oid=8573366)
The Grapes of Wrath (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/the-grapes-of-wrath/)
Rappahannock County (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/rappahannock-county/)
A Coffin in Egypt (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/a-coffin-in-egypt/)
27 (https://www.rickyiangordon.com/project/27/)

Other people/places mentioned:

UCross Artists’s Colony - https://www.ucrossfoundation.org/
Richard Nelson - https://www.broadwayplaypub.com/play-authors/richard-nelson/
Lynn Nottage - http://www.lynnnottage.com/
Frank Bidart - https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/frank-bidart
Ariel by Sylvia Plath - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/395090.Ariel
Bravo! Vail Valley Music Festival - https://www.bravovail.org/
Godard’s Vivre Sa Vie - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0056663/